On June 28, 2023, the Department of Commerce’s Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) announced that the United States was joining its “Five Eye” partners – Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the United Kingdom – in committing to formally coordinate on export control enforcement.  While these allied countries have shared intelligence and other national security information for years, this announcement confirms a formal commitment to coordination on export control enforcement and enhancing each country’s export control regimes.   The joint effort will attempt to minimize gaps in enforcement and foster joint investigations and coordinated enforcement actions. The countries will also continue efforts to strengthen enforcement partnerships with various industry sectors to inform and counter diversion efforts.  The announcement specifically notes that the partners “will leverage enforcement resources to expand each country’s capacity to take action to prevent and deter evasion of export controls, including by restricting Russia’s access to technologies that fuel its unlawful invasion of Ukraine.”