Note: This previously published client update has been revised to provide links to the official notices published by the Departments of Commerce and State on March 18, 2021.

On March 2, 2021, the Departments of Commerce, State and the Treasury imposed sanctions and export restrictions on numerous Russian officials and government entities in response to the Russian Federation’s alleged poisoning and subsequent imprisonment of opposition figure Aleksey Navalny. These actions follow similar sanctions imposed by the European Union and the United Kingdom. Dozens of Russian affiliates, officials and entities have been sanctioned and designated on the SDN List, Entity List and CAATSA’s 231 List. U.S. and foreign persons face significant risk from engaging in certain transactions or dealings with the newly sanctioned entities and persons.

View this full client update in HTML or PDF format.