On March 13, 2020, the Canadian House of Commons and the Canadian Senate each approved Bill C-4, an “Act to implement the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America and the United Mexican States.” Shortly after that, Canadian Governor General Julie Payette gave her royal assent, ratifying the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA) on Canada’s behalf. Now, all three countries have ratified the agreement.

Before the USMCA can enter into force, however, all three must prepare uniform regulations for certain new provisions in the agreement (e.g., automotive rules of origin and labor reforms). President Donald Trump continues to push for the USMCA’s implementation by June 1, 2020.