The Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) has designated 16 Chinese and Russian entities and individuals for activities related to the support of North Korea’s Kim Jong-un. These sanctions intentionally target third-country companies and individuals that (1) assist already-designated persons who support North Korea’s nuclear and ballistic missile programs, (2) deal in the North Korean energy trade, (3) facilitate its exportation of workers and (4) enable sanctioned North Korean entities to access the U.S. and international financial systems. These sanctions complement United Nations Security Council Resolution 2371 enacted on August 5, 2017. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin stated, “It is unacceptable for individuals and companies in China, Russia, and elsewhere to enable North Korea to generate income used to develop weapons of mass destruction and destabilize the region. We are taking actions consistent with UN sanctions to show that there are consequences for defying sanctions and providing support to North Korea, and to deter this activity in the future.” For details on the 16 entities and persons that have been placed on OFAC’s Specially Designated Nationals List, see OFAC’s Federal Register notice.